See If I [Health] Care


Faith in politics is silly.

Faith in politics leads to despair.

Faith in politics is no faith at all.

I voted for W. and then for McCain.  I don’t regret either choice.  What I regret is so often being restless and fearful about what might happen.

Where is the faith in that?

Dems and Repubs alike frighten me in their own unique ways.

The change Obama promised? I wasn’t entirely opposed to it but I did have my reservations.

The idea of a “government takeover” of health care alarmed me in a Glenn Beck sorta way.

That some expressed a “by any means necessary” willingness to pass the legislation did not make me feel any better.

I rejoiced at junctures when its defeat seemed imminent.

But now that it has passed I long to rejoice as well.  God remains in control and there are many ways in which my family and I will benefit.  This is good.

I imagine many hard-working families are thankful tonight for these provisions.

I understand though that not everyone is pleased.  That’s okay.  I wanted to offer some consolation.

U.S.A is not Soviet Russia yet.

In the tradition of Alec Baldwin and other grand standers, Rush Limbaugh promised to leave the country in the event that ObamaCare became law.

We shall soon see if he is a man of his word.

For anyone contemplating the same move, this handy link will help you determine where to go.  It shows countries with universal health care of some kind, countries attempting to pass it, and most importantly those without it.

Most of Africa is without it so you might consider going there but then they don’t have clean water either.

But weigh your options, I guess.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to See If I [Health] Care

  1. Lol!

    Great post, Chase. Love your civility, humor, and insight.

  2. Chase says:

    Thanks Rachel!

  3. Jen says:

    I know I saw at least one “I’m moving to Australia” tweet on that night… looks like they have universal health care too. Oh snap.

    “Dems and Repubs alike frighten me in their own unique ways.”

    Totally agree. We’re gonna be okay. Thanks for the sane and funny post. 🙂

  4. Chase says:

    Hey, Jen! Glad I could help. That you used the word “sane” to describe my writing is funny for exponential reasons. 😉

Leave a Reply

