Oscar Predictions ’10


So, I always play this game. Sometimes I find it difficult to predict a winner other than the one I hope wins. As the winners are announced, I feel conflicted. Part of me wants to be right. The other part hopes by some long shot that I will be pleasantly surprised. I usually spend a fair amount of time reading up on the Oscar Races, bookie summations, etc. I haven’t paid as close attention in recent years. I have a feeling though that I will pull my greatest numbers this year. Too bad, I’m not a betting man.

Here’s what I think will happen:

Best Picture: Avatar
Best Actor: Jeff Bridges
Best Actress: Gabourey Sidibe
Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Stanley Tucci
Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Anna Kendrick
Best Director: James Cameron
Best Original Screenplay: The Hurt Locker
Best Adapted Screenplay: Precious
Best Cinematography: The Hurt Locker
Best Editing: The Hurt Locker
Best Art Direction: Avatar
Best Costume Design: Nine
Best Makeup: The Young Victoria
Best Original Score: Avatar
Best Original Song: Nine
Best Sound Mixing: Avatar
Best Sound Editing: The Hurt Locker
Best Visual Effects: Avatar
Best Animated Feature: Up
Best Foreign Language Film: Ajami
Best Documentary Feature: The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers
Best Documentary, Short Subject: The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant
Best Short Film, Animated: Wallace and Gromit in ‘A Matter of Loaf and Death’
Best Short Film, Live Action: The Door

I hope I’m wrong especially about Avatar’s near sweep but I doubt it. I’d like if Crazy Heart won best original song instead of Nine, though I have seen Nine and absolutely loved it. I thought it would be up for more awards. Why Ms. Cruz and not Daniel Day-Lewis? He is always the right answer. I get sound editing and sound mixing mixed up but even still I’m just going with the favorites on those. On the minor categories, foreign films, etc, I pretty much just picked randomly.

We shall see.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

